Thankful Thursday 10/29   Leave a comment

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday for various reasons, the primary one being that it causes me to think about all the things I should be grateful for.

I think the world would be immensely improved if Gratitude Went Viral.

If you want to help make that happen, join us —

Code to Host:

http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=576313″ title=”click to view in an external page.”>An InLinkz Link-up
//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

Code for Link

get the InLinkz code

InLinkz | view linkup
Create link-ups, link parties and blog hops. Run challenges and increase your loyal followers with the LinkUp tool. Monetize your creative blog with the Project Manager.
INLINKZ.COM

One of the problems with much of our culture today is that we are too busy coveting what someone else has to truly count our own blessings. We want, we want, we want … the new I-Phone, the smart watch, the flashy new car, the latest “thang” in kitchen counters, more money in our paycheck, the rich to give their wealth to the middle class, the government to give the income of the working to the non-working, “free” healthcare, carbon-free energy, world peace … on and on and on … we covet and do not recognize what God has already given us. All of us are guilty of it … it’s an all-too-human trait going all the way back to the Garden when Eve coveted God’s fruit.

So here is my quirky take on thankfulness —

  • I am grateful for what I have today. It is sufficient. If I had less, I’d be in want and that would make me covet in a way that most people would say I was justified in doing. Their justification of my sin would help me to feel righteous in my covetousness. I thank God that He has given me what I need to survive today, so that I do not have an excuse for wanting more.
  • I am grateful today that God has not fulfilled all of my wants. I’m not wealthy. I have to work to pay my bills. My books are not flooding my bank account with profits. Other people have more stuff and better stuff than I do. And that’s okay, because my lack of wealth has taught me to be grateful to God for the little things. If I had more stuff, I wouldn’t be as grateful for what I have today. God knows that about me and it is that intimate knowledge of me that is more precious to me than gold or silver. I wouldn’t turn down financial blessings if they came my way, but I don’t need them to be content.

Philippians 4:10-14I have great joy in the Lord because now at last you have again expressed your concern for me. (Now I know you were concerned before but had no opportunity to do anything.) I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content in any circumstance. I have experienced times of need and times of abundance. In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of contentment, whether I go satisfied or hungry, have plenty or nothing. I am able to do all things through the one who strengthens me. Nevertheless, you did well to share with me in my trouble.” (Paul the apostle, writing from a Roman prison)

What's Your Opinion?

The Power of the Ellipsis

It's What Isn't Said that Says the Most

chasing destino

music, books and free mom hugs

Snapdragon Alcove

Books, Graphic Novels, Movies, & Anime

Caffe Gabavi (Numen)

Nada como tus ojos para sonreir

Lines by Leon: Leon Stevens, Science Fiction Author and Poet

Leon Stevens is a poet, science fiction author, and composer. Writing updates, humorous blogs, music, and poetry.

Valentine But

Books: fiction and poetry

Faith Reason And Grace

Inside Life's Edges

Elliot's Blog

Generally Christian Book Reviews

The Libertarian Ideal

Voice, Exit and Post-Libertarianism

CRAIN'S COMMENTS

Social trends, economics, health and other depressing topics!

My Corner

I write to entertain and inspire.

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool

Steven Smith

The website of British steampunk and short story author

thebibliophagist

a voracious reader. | a book blogger.