The Best Part   4 comments

Rules:

1. Link your blog to this hop.

2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.

3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.

4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.

5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.

<!– start InLinkz code –>

<div class=”inlinkz-widget” data-uuid=”ab301c2b95ef43d2a4b1ac38d031e2e7″ style=”width:100%;margin:30px 0;background-color:#eceff1;border-radius:7px;text-align:center;font-size:16px;font-family:’Helvetica Neue’,Helvetica,Arial,sans-serif”>

<div style=”padding:8px;”><p style=”margin-bottom:15px;”>You are invited to the <strong>Inlinkz</strong> link party!</p>

<a href=”https://fresh.inlinkz.com/p/ab301c2b95ef43d2a4b1ac38d031e2e7” target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow” style=”padding:5px 20px;background:#209cee;text-decoration:none;color:#efefef;border-radius:4px;”>Click here to enter</a></div></div>

<span style=”display: none;”>http://a%20href=</span>

<!– end InLinkz code –>

WordPress Shortcode

[fresh_inlinkz_code id=”ab301c2b95ef43d2a4b1ac38d031e2e7″]

Unique URL

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/p/ab301c2b95ef43d2a4b1ac38d031e2e7

That’s a hard one. Since I write series, I would have said transitions…so beginnings, but especially endings, when I’m setting up the next book. All throughout the book and sometimes in much earlier books, I’m seeding the contents for a later book, but especially at the end of the book, I’m trying to future-see. And that’s a lot of fun because it allows me to be a prophet. Yes, I’m the author but as a discovery writer who at best can plot out large trends rather than details, it’s major work for me.

But I’ve written a couple of standalones and I got say research also turns my crank. I’ve almost always started the book by then–there’s no reason, in my mind, to research for boring characters who will plod through the plot–and I get a charge out of watching an interesting character–like the very complicated Declan of Words I Wish I’d Said–interact with the research I’m uncovering.

So while I like all parts of the book journey at some point (well, except maybe final endings) I am going to say applying research to my characters and seeing it work out in the plot is probably where I get my most satisfaction.

4 responses to “The Best Part

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love research … except for that part where I go down a rabbit hole and lose track of what I’m supposed to concentrate on!

    Like

  2. Research can be fun, I love to be able to justify every item in the future I’ve created. Until it leads down a rabbit hole and lands you with three more new ideas.

    Like

What's Your Opinion?

The Power of the Ellipsis

It's What Isn't Said that Says the Most

chasing destino

music, books and free mom hugs

Snapdragon Alcove

Books, Graphic Novels, Movies, & Anime

Caffe Gabavi (Numen)

Nada como tus ojos para sonreir

Lines by Leon: Leon Stevens, Science Fiction Author and Poet

Leon Stevens is a poet, science fiction author, and composer. Writing updates, humorous blogs, music, and poetry.

Valentine But

Books: fiction and poetry

Faith Reason And Grace

Inside Life's Edges

Elliot's Blog

Generally Christian Book Reviews

The Libertarian Ideal

Voice, Exit and Post-Libertarianism

CRAIN'S COMMENTS

Social trends, economics, health and other depressing topics!

My Corner

I write to entertain and inspire.

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool

Steven Smith

The website of British steampunk and short story author

thebibliophagist

a voracious reader. | a book blogger.