Production Season   4 comments

Rules:

1. Link your blog to this hop.

2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.

3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.

4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.

5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.

<!– start InLinkz code –>

<div class=”inlinkz-widget” data-uuid=”dc2d762caa304ea8baff005af9945783″ style=”width:100%;margin:30px 0;background-color:#eceff1;border-radius:7px;text-align:center;font-size:16px;font-family:’Helvetica Neue’,Helvetica,Arial,sans-serif”>

<div style=”padding:8px;”><p style=”margin-bottom:15px;”>You are invited to the <strong>Inlinkz</strong> link party!</p>

<a href=”https://fresh.inlinkz.com/p/dc2d762caa304ea8baff005af9945783” target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow” style=”padding:5px 20px;background:#209cee;text-decoration:none;color:#efefef;border-radius:4px;”>Click here to enter</a></div></div>

<span style=”display: none;”>http://a%20href=</span>

<!– end InLinkz code –>

WordPress shortcode

[fresh_inlinkz_code id=”dc2d762caa304ea8baff005af9945783″]

Unique URL

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/p/dc2d762caa304ea8baff005af9945783

I think ideas flow year-round for me. Anytime I’m not actively engaged in truly engrossing work, my mind will throw off writing ideas. This is especially true in the spring-summer arc of seasons. Alaska is a kind of bipolar state. In the winter, it’s dark and cold. At the nadir of December 21, we have 2 1/2 hours of sunlight, a couple hours on each end of civil twilight, and then its dark more than 12 hours a day. Starting March 21, the days become 12 hours and gradually increase until Summer Solstice on June 21 when they days gradually start to dwindle. But, man, the 23 hours of sunlight is glorious!

For me, that period of the vernal equinox (March 21) signals the start of idea season. I really start to feel it around March 1 as the days get longer and I start to throw out story ideas — either whole stories that are brand-new or fresh ideas for my ongoing series. As spring progresses into summer, I’ll get less writing done because it’s too beautiful not to be outside, but I’ll also just be less focused. It’s an imaginative time of year, not so much a productive time. I might do some editing while I’m on the deck, but I often use this time to read other authors’ books.

The sunlight starts dwindling in June, but you notice it around here in August and September–our rainy season. That’s when my writing production picks up. One reason I often publish a book in September or October is that it’s been lying fallow for most of the summer and I can look at it with fresh eyes in September and do a final edit, then decide if it needs another edit from dispassionate eyes or it can be published.

I spend most of the winter writing. It keeps me from getting SAD in the winter. It takes me out of the house that’s causing cabin fever. It is a less imaginative time–one in which I look at all the notes I made in the summer and start mining my creativity.

So the answer is — I can’t say I have a specific season when my writing flows better, but there are different flavors to my flow depending on the sunlight.

Posted March 18, 2024 by aurorawatcherak in Blog Hop

Tagged with , , ,

4 responses to “Production Season

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can’t imagine only having 2 and a half hours of sunlight in December – I’d certainly get SAD syndrome! I write more in the winter, as we’re often at our caravan during the summer and out walking or on our bikes.

    Like

  2. I’d be out walking the cliffs at midnight, if it were light enough. I love the solitude, it’s a breeding ground of inspiation.

    Like

  3. Twenty-three hours of sunlight. Man, I bet my sleep cycle would be all out of whack.

    Like

  4. I would like to go to Alaska. Used to live in Hawaii so I got that knock off my list of states to go to. To have 23 hours of daylight. I imagen that can mess up someone sleep schedule.

    Like

What's Your Opinion?

The Power of the Ellipsis

It's What Isn't Said that Says the Most

chasing destino

music, books and free mom hugs

Snapdragon Alcove

Books, Graphic Novels, Movies, & Anime

Caffe Gabavi (Numen)

Nada como tus ojos para sonreir

Lines by Leon: Leon Stevens, Science Fiction Author and Poet

Leon Stevens is a poet, science fiction author, and composer. Writing updates, humorous blogs, music, and poetry.

Valentine But

Books: fiction and poetry

Faith Reason And Grace

Inside Life's Edges

Elliot's Blog

Generally Christian Book Reviews

The Libertarian Ideal

Voice, Exit and Post-Libertarianism

CRAIN'S COMMENTS

Social trends, economics, health and other depressing topics!

My Corner

I write to entertain and inspire.

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool

Steven Smith

The website of British steampunk and short story author

thebibliophagist

a voracious reader. | a book blogger.