I Kidnap People and Bludgeon Them for a Living   Leave a comment

Consider the act of writing a novel. I know there’s a “recommended way” of doing it, but I’ve never been very good at following recommendations. I do things my own way and that’s how I write.

To a certain extent, I am a discovery writer … what is called the cute, but kind of insulting name “pantser”. Don’t worry. I’m no snowflake who can’t handle an unintentional insult meant as a joke. Maybe that’s what I find insulting about it actually … that they think the act of writing a novel as an organic process is somehow a joke.

Plenty of famous authors are or were discovery writers. Ray Bradbury was. Bradbury gave me permission to write as I was already writing … just letting the words flow even though what I write is often not really very good. He said to do it. He suggested writing a short story every week because it isn’t possible to write 52 bad short stories in a row. I’m not so sure of that, but I believe it worked for him. The proof is in his writing.

So, when I start out any book, it always starts with no real idea of where I am going. Now that I’m in the midst of publishing two series, I really do have to have some idea of where I’m going, but I still can’t comfortably write a story from an outline. I need to let the story develop organically, to let characters talk about drivel or do meaningless things. That may not work for some people, but I am publishing my 5th book using that method, so it works for me.

I’m working on Transformation Project #3 A Threatening Fragility and because this is the third book in the series, I actually did know what the ending would be and what most of the major milestones would be. You’d think it would just crank out from my fingers, all ready to go, but no, I struggled. At 50,000 words, I felt like I was writing stupidity on a stick. Normally, by now, I would have found the passion of the story and begun writing with ardor, but this time … I just wanted to write anything else … which was what had caused me to turn from writing Book 3 of Daermad Cycle. I had too many ideas for other projects and no commitment to the story. So, here I was, 50,000 words into it and feeling a little like I should hit delete and start over.

And then a light bulb came on. I’m being too nice to my main character for the book. Yes, Shane is the main protagonist of the series, but it’s an ensemble cast and currently, what Shane is doing isn’t that interesting. He’s playing his part and it’s important for his later development to do it, but his brother Cai is the one in danger at the moment. So, why was he doing uninteresting things?

Turns out, I like Cai and I don’t want to beat up on him. He’s a really nice guy and I want him to go home to his wife and family and pretty much remain a nice guy. But that’s not what the story requires, so ….

Yeah … things are about to get tough for the nicest guy in the story and I’m sort of wondering how it will change the character because … well, frankly, as a discovery writer, I don’t really know the answer until it exposes itself on the page. And this is where the passion grabs me and drags me along for the ride.

I’ll have plenty of things to fix on rewrite and that’s fine now that I finally feel like the story is coming alive.

#books, #kindle, #amwriting, #amediting, #indiebookblast

 

 

Posted May 9, 2017 by aurorawatcherak in book promotion

Tagged with ,

What's Your Opinion?

susanne matthews

Living the Dream

MomzillaNC

A blog about issues, life in general, and being a mom, and sharing my poetry.

Felix Alexander Writer

Storyteller Philosopher Poet

YOURS IN STORYTELLING...

Steve Vernon - Nova Scotia writer, storyteller and master of the booga-booga

Dreaming In Blushh

You Are In A Beauty Contest Every Day Of Your Life💕 Beautiful.Colorful.You

Breaking the rules

with a smile

Aurora

Where the world begins

Twisted Thoughts

Pardon my Random Thoughts

Missing Happy

My Journey Through Depression

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Commonplace Fun Facts

a collection of trivia, fun facts, humor, and interesting notions.

Lincoln Life Blog

FOR GREAT CONTENT WITH PASSION

Bittersweet Sensations

Where the aftertaste of your feelings last

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

43bluedoors

stories from a nomadic couple

The Cheesesellers Wife

Anything and Everything, but mostly Poetry

A Collection Of Words

A look into my soul

The Broken Spine

"So many books, so little time." ~~Frank Zappa

