Eggs   10 comments

Okay, so I live in Alaska, where a people tend to be pretty individualistic. I have some friends with chickens and goats and one even has a cow. Cows and horses are hard in Alaska because of the cold weather, but this cow gives good milk.

I’ve never drank this cow’s milk pasteurized. That’s right. I drink raw milk occasionally and I’m still alive.I haven’t even got sick from it. And, I like raw milk so much that I have seriously considered buying a goat. A cow might be a little conspicuous on my town lot, but a nanny goat could be a pet and allowed to mow the lawn, which the neighbors would appreciate since Brad and I can get a little remiss in that area. We might even loan out the goat to mow other people’s lawns. It’s a neighborhood win-win.

Image result for image of farm-fresh eggsAnyway, the subject is actually eggs. According to my friend who — uh, exchanges these eggs for some green paper … the eggs she’s uh, giving me do not have to be refrigerated. I thought that was pretty weird when she said it to me the first time, so I asked “What do you mean! My egg carton says ‘keep refrigerated.'”

 

I was raised by a farm girl, so I know that eggs left out on the counter will not hatch a chicken, but I sort of thought they’d spoil. She explained to me that if eggs are “unwashed” they don’t need to be refrigerated.

So, I still thought that was weird, so I researched eggs. Yeah, I officially will research anything, I guess.

I learned that in the US, government regulation requires that eggs be washed before commercial sale. Okay, sounds good. You wouldn’t want to pick up any diseases from where that eggs been.

But then I learned that in Europe egg washing is forbidden by law. Now that’s weird. You’d think Europeans wouldn’t want to get sick any more than Americans do.

 

The FDA explains that they are only saving Americans from horrible diseases.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration announced a regulation expected to prevent each year approximately 79,000 cases of foodborne illness and 30 deaths caused by consumption of eggs contaminated with the bacterium Salmonella Enteritidis.

The regulation requires preventive measures during the production of eggs in poultry houses and requires subsequent refrigeration during storage and transportation.

Egg-associated illness caused by Salmonella is a serious public health problem. Infected individuals may suffer mild to severe gastrointestinal illness, short term or chronic arthritis, or even death. Implementing the preventive measures would reduce the number of Salmonella Enteritidis infections from eggs by nearly 60 percent.

Meanwhile, in Europe, the regulators explain that the forbidding of egg washing is only saving people from horrible diseases:

In general, eggs should not be washed or cleaned because such practices can cause damage to the egg shell, which is an effective barrier to bacterial ingress with an array of antimicrobial properties. However, some practices, such as the treatment of eggs with ultra-violet rays, should not be interpreted as constituting a cleaning process. Moreover, Class A eggs should not be washed because of the potential damage to the physical barriers, such as the cuticle, which can occur during or after washing. Such damage may favour trans-shell contamination with bacteria and moisture loss and thereby increase the risk to consumers, particularly if subsequent drying and storage conditions are not optimal.

Who is right? According to a New York Times report, there is a case either way:

But — and here is the big piece of the puzzle — washing the eggs also cleans off a thin, protective cuticle devised by nature to protect bacteria from getting inside the egg in the first place. (The cuticle also helps keep moisture in the egg.) With the cuticle gone, it is essential — and, in the United States, the law — that eggs stay chilled from the moment they are washed until you are ready to cook them.Salmonella outbreaks are more prevalent in large operations where the chickens are kept in close quarters, often in cages stacked on top of one another. Some large-scale producers vaccinate their flocks, but not all. Thus, the one-size-fits-all washing regulation.

My egg entrepreneur friend dries the eggs with a rag, but she doesn’t wash them, so they don’t need to be refrigerated. I still refrigerate them because I’ve been brainwashed by a lifetime of government regulation and commercial practice, but this is something we should be thinking about.

Image result for image of raw milkJust like raw milk is only dangerous if cross contaminated by un-sterilized containers and yet has incredible health benefits that we Americans are missing out on, unwashed eggs are only dangerous if you lick raw chicken crap off the shell. My friend recommended that we give the individual eggs a quick bath before we crack them open. She doesn’t do this, but for the squeamish, it helps our mental health.

Government in its infinite bureaucracy always thinks it possesses knowledge of the one and only way to do something and it is so convinced of its wisdom that it is willing to impose its knowledge at the point of a gun. It’s pretty absurd that two governments completely disagree and imposed vastly different ways of going about “protecting” our health.

So, what if governments simply stopped making rules about egg washing? What if we let the market decide how best to handle that.

I can hear my liberal friends stuttering now — “B-b-but people will die!” Really? Why would an egg producer want to poison someone? It would destroy their business because when the news got out, people would stop buying eggs from them. Consumers want the tastiest, cheapest and safest eggs available and producers want to provide them at a profit. That sounds like a marriage made in heaven to me. Trust that I can figure out what is healthy for me or not. The first time I was presented with raw milk, I did a cost benefit analysis. My mother managed to drink raw milk her entire childhood and not die. My friend who owns goats grew up drinking raw goats milk and he’s still living. Didn’t seem all that dangerous to me. And, wow, raw milk … way better than that stuff they sell in the grocery store.

Same with my egg friend. Her family eats unrefrigerated, rag-dried eggs every day and, after nearly 20 years of this habit, they’re all still living. Her eggs are also better-tasting, but that might just be because they’re 3-4 days fresher than what I get at the grocery store. Come to think of it, Mom probably grew up eat unrefrigerated eggs since Granddad’s farm didn’t have electricity, although maybe they put those eggs in the spring house where the milk was chilled. My point is that many of the rules we have today didn’t exist in the 1930s and still don’t exist in other developed countries. Is it possible that they exist simply for the continuation of the administrative state?

 

10 responses to “Eggs

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s a red-tape world.

    Like

    • It is. The US already had millions of miles of red tape to wade through, but under the Obama administration, the regulations nearly doubled. And they wonder why our economy hasn’t grown in eight years.

      Like

  2. A great post! I, too drank whole milk straight from our cow when I was young, and brought my family up on fresh milk. I never knew all that about eggs…

    Like

  3. Had one hen stray from my backyard flock and found her one day when I was cleaning up some brush. There she was sitting on 28 eggs which due to no rooster in the yard had no chance of hatching out chicks. If a hen lays one egg a day at best, that would be 28 days plus how ever many days after laying the last egg that the clutch of eggs had been there. Given that the hen had been diligent about sitting on the eggs (chickens have a body temperature of 103 F) one would wonder what the condition of the eggs would be like. We ended up eating every one of those eggs. (The hen died of exhaustion/dehydration/starvation 2 days after we found the clutch of eggs) One test to determine if an egg is good, it to immerse it in a pan of water before boiling or frying it. If it sinks it is fine to eat. That way we didn’t inadvertently crack open a foul egg.
    So the eggs were never washed, kept above room temperature for over a month in August. Verifies the European policy on eggs.

    Like

What's Your Opinion?

Phanfic Station!

Hi! My name's Angie, I like to write incomplete phanfics of my fav stuff n' all . Some things that you might want to know about me is that I'm a total procrastinator, a horrible speller, a yaoi fanatic, and HTTYD/Phan/Ravin/JR fangirl! (*Beware of cringe-worthy stories and smutty fanfics ☞ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°☞). If you already didn't know, both Gavin and Riley are pretty much the whole joke of this blog and it's kinky hellfics (thanks for existing) ;) and for the random people who are looking for Phanfics, there clearly are not here, sorry. ~Requests are OPEN!~

Sandy's Place book promotions

Welcome to My book promotions on WordPress.com

Felix Ravenna

Zara Altair, Author of Historical Fiction

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Are you still reading?

Your blog for stories, advice, laughter, awesome quotes, poetry and amazing photo's.

The Folklore Food Blog

Where Folklore Meets The Culinary Arts.

The Reluctant Poet

A Discovery of Enlightening Insights, Information, Humor, Writings and Musings

By BeaJay

A web site containing content written by BeaJay Mc Neice

wordpress5944

The invisible lady with invisible illnesses. But I am making it, one day at time.

PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS

LIFE IS WONDERFUL!

Raw, Raving Rants from a Struggling Writer

Sharing the fun, sharing the pain, sharing the inspiration!

hiddeninjesus

experiencing His joy

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

Maria GH Blog

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” — Albert Einstein

Ana P. Rose 🌹

I'm on this exploration writing journey. Walk with me. 🚶 🙏🌹

