Shocked   4 comments

Ordinarily, I don’t post anything non-writer related on Wednesdays, but this Wednesday is different. I was so sure Hillary Clinton was going to win that I waited to the end of filling out my ballot yesterday to select Gary Johnson because, for half a delusional moment, I thought “she’s going to win if people don’t vote against her.” But, ultimately, my principles won out and I did what I said I would do in March.

So, if I were writing this, Hillary would refuse to concede (after all, she won the popular vote – CNN claims) and Barack Obama would issue an executive order setting aside the Electoral College (why not? He’s done worse crimes against our constitution). Then, in a last ditch effort, he would refuse to step down from the Presidency (which I’ve always felt he might do). Barack Obama would refuse to leave the White House and this would all end up in the schizophrenic Supreme Court.

But that’s not what’s happening, so ….

So I’m shocked today and terrified and excited. Trump scares me almost as much as Hillary does. I don’t think he’ll be substantially different in policy than Clinton, but I do think this election signals something people ought to pay attention to. It would appear the voters of this nation are done listening to the progressive elites about who they should vote for. It also appears that the states are really starting to rear their heads.

Oh, and if you’re considering heading to Canada because of this election result … may I suggest that Canadians don’t deserve you. They have their own problems and would probably just as soon you didn’t add to them. Maybe Mexico would suit you better. The weather’s warmer and your dollar will go further … and you might learn what it means to live in a country without the rule of law where people like you are in charge 24/7.

On the other hand … yeah, there was no way this election was turning out well. Bad choices make for bad results.

Posted November 9, 2016 by aurorawatcherak in politics

Tagged with , , ,

4 responses to “Shocked

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was upset that it didn’t even really matter if Alaska voted. There is something screwed up about half of the country’s people not even acknowledged.

    Like

    • Back in the 1970s, there was a law passed that said the national media could not announce the winner until after the polls closed, but when CNN created the 24-hour news cycle, that went by the wayside.

      Generally, they call it when the polls close in California and Alaska and Hawaii just have to put up with it. I personally ignore the news until after I have voted. It doesn’t change the outcome. It is also a really good lesson in “our votes mean nothing.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah. I don’t know how to fix it. The Internet is a wonderful tool for liberty and I would fight any attempt to muzzle it, so Alaska will always know the outcome of the election by about 4 o’clock.

    Like

What's Your Opinion?

Are you still reading?

Your blog for advice, laughter, awesome quotes and amazing photo's.

The Folklore Food Blog

Where Folklore Meets The Culinary Arts.

The Reluctant Poet

A Discovery of Enlightening Insights, Information, Humor, Writings and Musings

By BeaJay

A web site containing content written by BeaJay Mc Neice

wordpress5944

The invisible lady with invisible illnesses. But I am making it, one day at time.

PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS

LIFE IS WONDERFUL!

Raw, Raving Rants from a Struggling Writer

Sharing the fun, sharing the pain, sharing the inspiration!

hiddeninjesus

experiencing His joy

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

Maria GH Blog

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” — Albert Einstein

Anaprose

I invite my readers to follow me on my writing journey.

Ups, Downs & Deviations

Poems and such about various things

The Bag Lady

The Secret of Change Is to Focus All of Your Energy, Not on Fighting the Old, But on Building the New - Socrates

Living in God's Pocket with ABI

Nurturing Compassion and Stewardship

lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

Kvenna ráð

I write on rice-paper. If necessary I can eat my words.

